Project Office for iOS Knowledge Base
Welcome to the Project Office Knowledge Base! Here you can find answers to your questions and everything else you need to know about Project Office.
When you log into the app for the first time you get to the start page — "Projects Folder". Here you will find examples of completed projects for review, and this Folder will store store all the projects that you will create.
Add new Project — allows you to create a new project
Trash button moves you to the files that were deleted. On the icon you can see the number of projects that are now contained in the dump.
Sort option allows to order projects list as you need — by Date of last project change or by Title of projects. All projects are sorted by Title by default.
Files button gives you an access to "Files" App. This integration gives a possibility to share projects between your iOS devices and Mac.
After tapping Settings button the system openes new popup menu with following options:
Help — opens short User Guide with basic usage rules of Project Office.
Restore Sample Documents — if you need you can always restore sample projects to Projects folder.
Feedback — write us a review and/or suggestions for improving the program.
Recommended Apps — a list of other recommended programs for business organization.
Rate This App — leave your rate about an app.
Share This App — you can share an app a link with your friends and collegues.
Backup — backup all projects to keep it in safe place and restore last saved projects any time you will need it.
NOTE: If you restore some of Previous Backups all current projects will be replaced with projects from chosen backup.
To edit the project Long press Project icon — the app will switch to Select menu and new options will be activated.
Copy — this option allows you to make copies of as many projects as you selected
All projects you Delete are moved to Trash folder. You can choose several projects to get them deleted.
In Actions popup menu you can:
Send via email — send an entire project to new user
Export project / PDF Document — create PDF document with Gantt Chart view
Export project / Make HTML Task Report — create HTML task report
Export project / Make HTML Resources Report — create HTML resource report
PDF-report can be shared with other users. In Share popup menu of report window you can: Send report via E-mail, Open report in other apps, Print created report.
After removal from the Projects Folder all files are transferred to Trash Folder. To open Trash you need to tap button on the start page.
Project files located in Trash user can:
Restore. After this action selected project (-s) will move to Projects Folder and will be available for editing.
Remove. After this action selected project (-s) will completely be removed and will not be available for recovery.
NOTE: Restore and Remove options are available after long press on the icon of any project.
Empty Trash. This action will permanently remove all projects from the trash and they will not be available for recovery.
Newly created project is opened in Project Editor window.
Buttons placed on the navigation bar are designed for editing current project file. These are:
Projects — tap to leave project and go back to Projects Folder
Undo — tap to cancel previous action
Redo — tap to repeat previous action
Edit — tap to open editing elements at the bottom of the screen:
Edit menu allows you to copy, move or delete any task, group tasks or ungroup, connect an disconnect.
Add Task — tap to add new task to the project. If tap and hold there will appear a new popover with possibility to create new Task, Milestone or Group
Buttons placed on the "Inspectors" bar are designed for setting Tasks, Projects, Resources and View of current proejct. These are:
Task Inspector — tap to open Task Inspector. There is three tabs in Task Inspector: Task Info, Scheduling, Assignments.
Resources Inspector — is used to create and enter parameters regarding resources used in the project. There is a possibility to import resources from Contacts, or add a new one.
Project Inspector — use to configure project settings:
- Direction — depending on type of your project choose planning direction: Forward with Fixed Start or Backward with Fixed End
- Work Hours — set work hours of project
- Calendar — configure project calendar (days-off, days with different working hours)
- Start/End — fields to set start/due date of project. Start Date is available if Project Planning Direction is Forward; End Date is available if Project Planning Direction is Backward
- Total Cost — view the total cost of the project
- Currency — select the type of currency to be used for calculating the costs
- Detailing — choose how precisely to schedule task start and end times (Exact, Hourly, Daily). Rounding up can make planning easier by keeping durations tidy and manageable, but of course you lose some precision
- Effort Conversions — figure out how many hours should be calculated as one day, week, month and year.
View — this popover allows to set Project view options
- Filter — filter for your project
- Baseline — add and choose baseline to compare with actual project base plan
- Crirtical Path — use to highlight the important tasks that have a direct influence on the finish date of your project
- Gant Bar Labels — allows to set view parametrs for Task Prefix and Right Label of project tasks
If you tap task on Gantt Chart Task title Inspector is opened. To read whole task title and view start and due dates you need to scroll Task title Inspector.
After activating of Resource Load Chart it is shown on Gantt chart view. To see the whole list of resources you need to scroll the Resource Load Chart.
Syncing projects between iOS and Mac OS X versions is done with iCloud Drive and Files app. The "Files" app is available either from your iOS device or directly from Project Office app.
NOTE: To get access to all files on iCloud Drive the same Apple ID both on Mac and iOS device should be enabled.
Opening files from "Files" App on iOS device:
First, check if "Project Office" app has an access to iCloud Drive Document Storage:
"Settings" → "Project" → "Document Storage". The "iCloud Drive" field should be selected.
Inside the "Files" app you can choose the location to browse saved files: "iCloud Drive" or "On My iPhone".
Choosing "On My iPhone" option gives an access to all files saved on your device. To work on the same project both on Mac and iOS device choose "iCloud Drive" folder.
There are two types of project files: simple and archived.
Simple project file — is a usual project file, that is stored and saved on iCloud Drive. For example, if you open project file in iCloud Drive, than make some changes and save it, this file will be written all over in iCloud Drive.
Archived project file — is a file with archived project, that is stored on iCloud Drive, but saved on device (Local Documents). For example, if you open project file in iCloud Drive, than make some changes and save it, this file will be written all over inside Project Office app in Local Documents. But the source project file in iCloud Drive will remail without changes.
Opening files from Project Office app:
Inside the app there is "Local Documents" section, that contains all files saved in the app on current device — "On My iPhone/iPad" (in "Files" App).
In addition you can access saved projects using integrated "Files" App directly from the Projects Folder. After tapping button the "iCloud Drive" window is opened.
Projects that are saved in iCloud Drive are available both on Mac and iPhone/iPad.
Opening files on Mac:
To start working with project files on Mac make sure iCloud is enabled on your Mac: "System Preferences" → "iCloud".
The "Project Office" option should be enabled in iCloud Drive by default. Check "iCloud Drive" → "Options..." → "Documents" tab.
To share projects to your iOS device, after finishing up with your project, choose "iCloud Drive" folder when saving a new project on your Mac.
Simultaneous work on many devices
At simultaneous work on several devices, the program reports about changes and proposes to save one or more project files.
You can save either one of selected files, or keep all at once.